You can't currently completely delete Items.
Reporting in myTurn currently is done in "real time", so if you deleted an item or user, you would lose stats and reporting. You can however "disable" items. This will hide those items from regular users and admins places (admins can request to show them, but they are not shown by default), while maintaining history and reporting.
If an Item has not been used (no loans, etc.) then you can also re-use an existing Item and change all the information about it, including it's Item Type.
To disable an Item:
- Edit the item, and check off the "Disabled" status box
- If you changed or removed your "Disabled" status, you will need to add a new Disabled status at: Settings -> Inventory -> Edit Statuses
- Then return to editing the item and check off the "Disabled" status
- Note: the status must be exactly "Disabled" at this time
- Disabled items will not show up on the public site or in admin reports by default (except when there is a transaction associated with them).